Thursday Pre-Arbitration Signings

7:41pm: The Miami Herald has a list of eight players who agreed to terms with the A’s for 2009. Daric Barton, Kurt Suzuki, Dallas Braden, Dana Eveland, Gio Gonzalez, Sean Gallagher, Henry Rodriguez and Landon Powell all agreed to one-year contracts.

12:27pm: According to a press release, via the Miami Herald, the Brewers have inked Tony Gwynn Jr., Manny Parra, Hernan Iribarren and Chase Wright to one-year contracts.

11:48am: The Orange County Register’s Bill Plunkett has a few more from the Angels.  Howie Kendrick, Dustin Moseley, Kevin Jepsen and Matt Brown have been signed to ’09 contracts.

9:53am:’s Steve Gilbert reports that the Diamondbacks have agreed to one-year contracts with Yusmeiro Petit, Leo Rosales and Kyler Newby.  They’ll each make around $400K this year.

9:50am: According to a press release, via the Miami Herald, the Cubs have now settled with all 20 of their pre-arbitration players.  Sean Marshall, Mike Fontenot and Micah Hoffpauir are some of the bigger names on the list.

9:49am: Jose De Jesus Ortiz of the Houston Chronicle reports that the Astros have renewed Hunter Pence‘s contract.  He’ll earn $450K in ’09.

9:41am:’s Jon Heyman has a few more pre-arbitration signings.  2008 Cy Young Award winner Tim Lincecum was inked for $650K, Angels pitcher Joe Saunders settled for $475K, Cubs reliever Carlos Marmol for $575K and Cubs infielder Ryan Theriot for $500K.

These are all guys without enough MLB service time to be eligible for salary arbitration.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!