Clayton Kershaw Wins NL CY Young

Clayton Kershaw won the 2011 National League Cy Young Award, the BBWAA announced. The 23-year-old left-hander becomes the youngest Cy Young winner since Dwight Gooden of the Mets won the award as a 20-year-old in 1985. Kershaw posted a league-leading 2.28 ERA in 233 1/3 innings. He struck out 248 batters while allowing just 54 walks en route to a 21-5 record and his first All-Star Game selection.

“I'm extremely thankful and humbled by this award,” Kershaw in a statement. “The company that I'm in now… just to be mentioned with some of those guys. I'm just in awe.  I never thought I'd be here."

Kershaw obtained 27 of 32 possible first place votes to beat runners-up Roy Halladay and Cliff Lee. Nine others obtained votes: Ian Kennedy, Cole Hamels, Tim Lincecum, Yovani Gallardo, Matt Cain, John Axford, Craig Kimbrel, Madison Bumgarner and Ryan Vogelsong. Three Phillies placed in the top five and four fifths of the Giants' rotation obtained votes.

Matt Swartz's work for MLBTR suggests Kershaw will earn roughly $8.7MM as a first-time arbitration eligible player in 2012. The Dodgers, who control the southpaw's rights through 2014, will likely consider a long-term deal for Kershaw this winter.

blog comments powered by Disqus