Baseball’s Longest-Tenured GMs

It’s been an unusually quiet offseason for general manager turnover — so far. The Rockies re-structured their baseball operations department, the Marlins are mulling changes, and the White Sox are expected to promote two top executives. Otherwise, it’s been relatively slow, with no dismissals midway through a month that’s often filled with GM turnover.

Using Baseball America's executive database I’ve compiled a list of baseball’s longest-tenured general managers. The list shows how long GMs have been with their current teams, not when they got their first gig running a team. That list would look different, with Dave Dombrowski, Sandy Alderson and Dan Duquette at the top (I'm using the term 'GM' loosely; some of the executives below have different titles on their business cards). 

The Bay Area has two of the sport’s three longest-tenured GMs in Brian Sabean and Billy Beane. There's been lots of turnover in the past five years, as nearly half (14) of baseball's GMs were hired in that time. Here's the complete list:

  1. Terry Ryan, Twins, 1994 (stepped aside from 2007-11)
  2. Brian Sabean, Giants, 1996
  3. Billy Beane, Athletics, 1997
  4. Brian Cashman, Yankees, 1998
  5. Dan O'Dowd, Rockies, 1999 (Bill Geivett assumes many GM duties as Sr. VP of Major League operations)
  6. Kenny Williams, White Sox, 2000 (expected to be promoted, replaced by Rick Hahn)
  7. Larry Beinfest, Marlins, 2002
  8. Dave Dombrowski, Tigers, 2002
  9. Doug Melvin, Brewers, 2002
  10. Jon Daniels, Rangers, 2005
  11. Andrew Friedman, Rays, 2005
  12. Ned Colletti, Dodgers, 2005
  13. Dayton Moore, Royals, 2006
  14. Neal Huntington, Pirates, 2007
  15. Frank Wren, Braves, 2007
  16. John Mozeliak, Cardinals, 2007
  17. Walt Jocketty, Reds, 2008
  18. Jack Zduriencik, Mariners, 2008
  19. Ruben Amaro, Jr., Phillies, 2008
  20. Mike Rizzo, Nationals, 2009
  21. Alex Anthopoulos, Blue Jays, 2009
  22. Kevin Towers, Diamondbacks, 2010
  23. Chris Antonetti, Indians, 2010
  24. Sandy Alderson, Mets, 2010
  25. Jed Hoyer, Cubs, 2011
  26. Josh Byrnes, Padres, 2011
  27. Jerry Dipoto, Angels, 2011
  28. Jeff Luhnow, Astros, 2011
  29. Ben Cherington, Red Sox, 2011
  30. Dan Duquette, Orioles, 2011

Check out MLBTR's 2010 series on the reaction each GM generated upon taking his first GM job: AL East, AL Central, AL West, NL East, NL Central, NL West.

Full Story | 4 Comments | Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

4 Comments on "Baseball’s Longest-Tenured GMs"

2 years 11 months ago

I figure this is as good a place as any to ask, but what’s happened to the GM Trade Histories?

2 years 11 months ago

How is Terry Ryan #1? He was gone for 4 years, that doesn’t count.

2 years 11 months ago

Agreed. The concept of the word “longest tenured” means how long since you’ve been there. Even if we count total years there, he should move down, fact is, he left for 4 years.

Ramli Xerez-Burgos
2 years 11 months ago

Hopefully as a Mets fan, Sandy Alderson will be GM as longer as he can to have stability in this franchise.