2008 Non-tender Candidates

On Wednesday, the non-tender deadline will occur.  Basically, that’s when teams decide whether to offer a contract to the unsigned players on their 40-man roster.  Players not tendered a contract become free agents.  Past non-tenders include David Ortiz, Rick Ankiel, Joel Pineiro, Ryan Franklin, Ryan Spilborghs, and David Eckstein.  Usually at least a few useful guys are unearthed.

Here’s my initial crack at a list of non-tender candidates.

Ben Broussard
Emil Brown
Brian Bruney
Kiko Calero
Neal Cotts
Joe Crede
Brendan Donnelly
Morgan Ensberg
Johnny Estrada
Mark Hendrickson
Reed Johnson
Jason Lane
Felipe Lopez
Kevin Mench
Miguel Olivo
Scott Podsednik
Mark Prior
Horacio Ramirez
Juan Rincon
Cory Sullivan
Josh Towers
Claudio Vargas
Matt Wise

  • Note that I tried to limit the list to names I found interesting.  I came across some additional candidates but left them out as they didn’t seem worthy.  No need to debate the worth of Jae Seo (on the list) vs. Kirk Saarloos (not on the list).
  • Comment fodder: Any interesting names I missed?  Which player will turn out to be the best of the non-tender class?  Who will get the biggest free agent contract?

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!