![]() |
|
|
| |
« Week in Review: 7/27 - 8/2 | Main | Mets Eyeing Rich Aurilia? »
MLB Trade Rumors uses a handful of different ad networks to supply the ads you see on the site. Within each network, I've always kept pop-ups and other instrusive ads blocked. You should never see anything like that here - it's just annoying.
However, it has been happening to some readers in the past few weeks. I've done everything I can in an attempt to figure out which network is sneaking in these pop-ups and full-page ads without my permission. So far, I've had no success.
That's where you come in. I would be extremely grateful if readers can help me eliminate these annoying ads. They don't occur very often; I haven't been able to get them on my own computer. I believe they occur when you click Comments to read a post's comments. If you see one, please take a screenshot and email it to me. Better yet, you could even right-click and send me the source code of the popup. Based on reader emails, I've learned that some of the malicious advertisers are called QuestionMarket.com and FreeWebScanner.com. But, that is not enough for me to identify the offending ad network. I am at my wit's end so any help would be much appreciated.
TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d834515b9a69e200e553cc077b8833
Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Help MLBTR Eliminate Pop-Ups:
This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.
As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.
Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


|
|
Tim, this is how you run a good site.
Good job this week also. Hope you got that million hit mark.
Posted by: B Fu | August 03, 2008 at 08:32 PM
997,400. Missed it by thaaaat much.
Posted by: Tim Dierkes | August 03, 2008 at 08:45 PM
FYI for everyone, I would recommend using FireFox AdBlock Plus, in case you are seeing some of these ads. Assuming you use FF and not IE.
Posted by: ThrashMagazine | August 03, 2008 at 08:56 PM
Safari all the way.
Posted by: stellar | August 03, 2008 at 09:00 PM
Hey Tim I signed up on your site just to tell you I saved the source code from one of the popups haha. I have been coming here for ages but finally felt compelled to sign up. :-P
I can email you the .txt file where I copied/pasted the source code if you want.
Posted by: The_Offspring187 | August 03, 2008 at 09:21 PM
it's "at my whit's end" not "at my wit's end"
...juse because i'm picky and obnoxious.
Posted by: messerbh | August 03, 2008 at 09:24 PM
Please do send that source code along. And I did not know that about that phrase, so thanks.
Posted by: Tim Dierkes | August 03, 2008 at 09:25 PM
Hmmm I am not so sure about that wit's end idiom being spelled that way actually.
Posted by: Tim Dierkes | August 03, 2008 at 09:31 PM
Email is sent.
How about them Cubs?
Haha only my second post but usually most threads turn into Cubs threads don't they? Haha. I'm just teasing by the way. And the Cubs really are my favorite team so it wasn't sarcastic either. :-P
Posted by: The_Offspring187 | August 03, 2008 at 09:32 PM
I always thought it to be "wit's end" as well and I am notoriously cantankerous when it comes to spelling...but I HAVE been wrong before...and I guess I COULD be wrong again...haha.
Posted by: The_Offspring187 | August 03, 2008 at 09:33 PM
Thanks for sending the code. Seems like it is the source code of the entire webpage rather than the popup though. However I do not really know how one gets source code of a popup. The ad network it's coming from is likely TribalFusion or Burst. If nothing else I will try process of elimination.
Posted by: Tim Dierkes | August 03, 2008 at 09:35 PM
tim..the people complaining likely have spyware on their computer they are not aware of causing "pop-unders", which is the spyware's way of sending a pop up in between a visit to a previous page and visiting yours.
a good spyware cleaning program should help them eliminate the problem, because i know for a fact i have never seen ONE popup from your site using regular old crappy IE 7.
congrats on the number (dangit, i shoulda never promised not to ask for a plug for us. haha)..and i venture a guess you easily smash it either at the winter meetings or next july 31.
Posted by: bobhamelin | August 03, 2008 at 11:30 PM
In terms of ads this has to be the lightest site that I visit, never have gotten a pop up ad, but I also use a program called selectview to block the majority of them as well with IE 6.
For the people that are getting pop ups I would second the recommendation of getting a good spyware scanner, in my job as a PC tech for a hospital I find that alot more problems come from spyware then they do viruses any more.
I would recomment Xoftspy, its pay to use 20 bucks, but it finds a ton and is very quick. Personally I think its the mlbtraderumors.com of spyware sweepers.
Posted by: schellis | August 03, 2008 at 11:39 PM
I don't believe this is any kind of spyware if it is affecting other people. I have only gotten it at this site and it has happened a few times. It is a full page ad that is light blue. I at first thought that you had extended your advertising but this explains it. It never happens anywhere else.
Posted by: John Difford | August 03, 2008 at 11:43 PM
I've been coming here for a long time and I've never seen a pop-up ad come from this site.
Posted by: NY_Cardinal | August 03, 2008 at 11:53 PM
Yeah it is a pretty rare pop-up, which has made it harder for me to track down and eliminate. But, I do think it comes from this site. I guess I will just pull out various ad networks one at a time and see if it goes away.
Posted by: Tim Dierkes | August 03, 2008 at 11:59 PM
tim, check your email, i have a screen shot of it.
Posted by: trober81 | August 04, 2008 at 07:23 AM
Got a good 10-12 emails about it, thanks.
Posted by: Tim Dierkes | August 04, 2008 at 08:30 AM
wit's not whit's
Posted by: Meyer15 | August 04, 2008 at 11:20 AM
Yeah, it's definitely "wit's." I'm pretty sure that phrase was first used in the bible.
Posted by: Kevin | August 04, 2008 at 12:29 PM
Tim,
I actually get a full page add occasionally when I click on "page 2" or "previous entries", what ever you want to call it. I am running a Macbook with Firefox and applicable addware and popup blockers. I have never gotten it at work where I run IE6. You cannot get rid of the add or go back, I just close the tab and reload the page. Not huge because its only happened three or four times. Otherwise awesome clean website.
Zachary
Posted by: ASGAppearance | August 04, 2008 at 04:59 PM
but I HAVE been wrong before...and I guess I COULD be wrong again...haha.
Posted by: The_Offspring187 | August 03, 2008 at 09:33 PM
I thought that I was wrong one time, but I was mistaken. ;)
Posted by: nrmax88 | August 04, 2008 at 06:27 PM
That's one of them jokes right? I heard about those.
Posted by: ArodSucksAtLife | August 04, 2008 at 09:18 PM
Finally got one.
http://amch.questionmarket.com/static/floatingquestionmarks21.gif
Posted by: ArodSucksAtLife | August 05, 2008 at 02:25 AM