Poll: The Mets’ Leadership Change

The Mets haven't won a championship since Frank Cashen and Davey Johnson led them to the top of the baseball world in 1986. Since then, they've cycled through five GMs and eight managers with mixed results. Omar Minaya and Jerry Manuel, who are currently in charge of the team, won't be back in the same capacity next season. We don't know who will be running the Mets from here on, but it’s not too early to vote.

Will the Mets be better off under new leadership?

Click here to vote and here to view the results.

Full Story | 16 Comments | Categories: New York Mets

16 Responses to Poll: The Mets’ Leadership Change Leave a Reply

  1. Dave_Gershman 5 years ago

    Ted Simmons or Wally Backman for Manager…De Jon Watson or John Hart for GM.

    • mrsjohnmiltonrocks 5 years ago

      I like Ted Simmons too much to wish the Mets job on him. I don’t know who will work out there-I have heard terrible things about the Mets ownership and meddling in all matters regarding the baseball team. It seems too be a difficult situation. My question would be: Is there someone they can promote from within?

  2. hawkny1 5 years ago

    The Mets need a new owner….

  3. I voted yes. They can’t be any worse

    • Dave_Gershman 5 years ago


    • basically, this.

    • Exactly. A drunk monkey throwing darts at a board would be better than Minaya, because at least a drunk monkey wouldn’t actively target bad players. Although, to be honest, I’m not sure Omar Minaya is not in fact a drunk monkey.

  4. BravesRed 5 years ago

    I rather them keep Manuel and Minaya.

  5. IUO 5 years ago

    First they need new owners that get it. Make small profit now to get a winning team together and get Hugh profits later. Because everyone knows that if you win the people will come and spend their money on tickets, jerseys, etc…. And the ratings on their beloved SNY will skyrocket, which means more sponsers buying commercials $$$$$. But we can only dream of new ownership.
    They can still get us the manager we want, a more aggressive person like Bobby Valentine that got alot out of that 2000 team which came so close. Then get Wally Backman as the bench coach, Keith Hernandez (the perfectionist) as the hitting coach, Howard Johnson as the 3rd base coach ( which is what he should of been), Mookie Wilson as the 1st base coach. If they can get Dave Duncan as pitching coach ( pay him whatever he wants he fixes everyone) and let him pick the bullpen coach. Main thing here is to bring back a winning and aggressive spirit to the Mets and make them Amazin again. The thing to remember is that this is a business and if you want your customers back then you have to repair that relationship. And the manager from 2000 and the winning, aggressive and respected Players of ’86 can help repair this embarrassment called “The New York Mets”.

    • YankeeBaseball 5 years ago

      Totally agree! It all starts with Bobby V.

  6. It’s almost impossible to imagine the Mets not being better off under new management. I suppose they could try to lure Bill Bavasi or Dave Littlefield or even Allard Baird back into the GM’s chair, or maybe try to lure Ed Wade to New York, otherwise they can’t get much worse.

  7. johnsilver 5 years ago

    I am glad to see them both gone also, but have a question with with regards to whoever takes over the reigns as GM anyway for the 1st 1-2 years.. Aren’t they really, really weighted down with some of Minaya’s signings as it is? Bay, Santanna, Perez, Beltron, Castillo, Reyes. That is an awful lot of cash committed before the season starts. Just how much is the new GM going to have to work with? Only Beltron has any trade value and they can’t move Santanna, he is the rotation Ace.

  8. Guest 5 years ago

    It’s not only Manuel and Minaya that do a poor job, it’s the ownership. They treat the organization like a Fantasy Baseball League that someone is in just to fill up a final spot for a mutual friend.

  9. Guest 5 years ago

    As long as Minaya is in the front office, they are doomed.

  10. RazorShines 5 years ago

    As far as bad contracts go…. Perez/Castillo/Beltran are owed 38 mil and all 3 are free agents after this year….But they still will have 2 more years of Bay, 3 more of Sanatana; plus Reyes is a free agent, Pelfrey will be coming up on free agency, K-Rod has a potential vesting option and David Wright will be entering a walk year…they need to offer extensions to Reyes and Wright and build around them and Ike Davis as well as the 3 pitchers- Santana/Pelfrey/Niese….Dickey earned a contract for next year….Angel Pagan also earned an extension.

Leave a Reply