Boston’s Long-Term Commitments

The Red Sox announced their extension with Adrian Gonzalez today, less than a week after locking Clay Buchholz up to a long-term deal of his own. The Red Sox will see at least six players hit free agency after the season, while others are under team control for many years to come. Here's a look how long the Red Sox have their current 25-man roster under team control:

Through 2011: J.D. Drew, David Ortiz, Mike Cameron, Jonathan Papelbon, Tim Wakefield, Jason Varitek

Through 2012: Bobby Jenks, Daisuke Matsuzaka, Marco Scutaro (option), Dan Wheeler (club option)

Through 2013: Kevin Youkilis, Jarrod Saltalamacchia, Jacoby Ellsbury, Matt Albers (currently on DL)

Through 2014: Josh Beckett, Jon Lester (club option), John Lackey, Alfredo Aceves, Jed Lowrie

Through 2015: Dustin Pedroia (club option), Daniel Bard, Darnell McDonald

Through 2016: Felix Doubront

Through 2017: Carl Crawford, Clay Buchholz (club option)

Through 2018: Adrian Gonzalez

Boston may cut ties with some of their arbitration eligible players before they pick up six years of MLB service, but I've listed the current period of team control. With their recent long-term deals, the Red Sox have extended control over their core players. Drew, Ortiz and Papelbon are eligible for free agency after the coming season and after that it appears that Youkilis will be the next major contributor to hit the open market.

Full Story | 0 Comments | Categories: Boston Red Sox
blog comments powered by Disqus