Cox, La Russa, Torre Elected To Hall Of Fame

The Major League Baseball Hall of Fame's Expansion Era committee announced today that managers Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre have all been unanimously elected to the Hall of Fame. No players were elected by the 16-man committee, and also noticeably absent is former MLBPA executive director Marvin Miller.

Cox, 72, finished his managerial career with a record of 2,504-2,001. He managed the Blue Jays for four seasons but is most famous for serving as the Braves' skipper for 25 seasons, during which time he won a World Series title and also captured five National League pennants.

The 69-year-old La Russa brought home three AL pennants, three NL pennants and is a three-time World Series champion as a manager — once with the A's and twice with the Cardinals. In 33 seasons as a manager between the White Sox, A's and Cards, La Russa compiled a 2,728-2,365 record.

Torre, 73, managed at the Major League level for 29 seasons, leading the Mets, Braves, Cardinals, Yankees and Dodgers over the course of his career. Torre captured six American League pennants with the Yankees and led the Bronx Bombers to four World Series victories in a five-year span from 1996-2000. He finished with a career record of 2,236-1,997.

Remember that this is a separate vote from the annual Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) Hall of Fame vote. The results of that ballot — which features candidates such as Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas, Jeff Bagwell, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff and many more — will be announced next month on Jan. 8.

Full Story | 0 Comments | Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!