13 Teams Eligible For First Competitive Balance Lottery

The new collective bargaining agreement calls for a competitive balance draft pick lottery beginning in 2013, and MLB.com's Jonathan Mayo has details.  13 teams will be eligible for the first lottery based on their market size and revenue: the Diamondbacks, Orioles, Indians, Royals, Athletics, Pirates, Padres, Rays, Reds, Rockies, Marlins, Brewers, and Cardinals.  The lottery gives each of these teams the chance to win one of six extra picks in the 2013 draft, which will come after the compensation picks for free agents.  The odds of winning a pick will be based on each team's winning percentage in the previous season.

There will be another group of six picks after the draft's second round.  The teams in the mix for these will be the ones that did not win a pick in the first lottery, as well as any other team that receives revenue sharing.

Mayo says lottery picks can be traded, but only once by a team and only during the regular season.  The picks cannot be sold for cash.

A third lottery will be held for picks forfeited by teams that exceeded their bonus pools.  Teams that did not exceed their pools will be eligible, with odds based on a formula of revenue and winning percentage.  Got all that?  There will be a quiz tomorrow.

21 Responses to 13 Teams Eligible For First Competitive Balance Lottery Leave a Reply

  1. I hope the Cards get all the picks even though they have like a 1% chance. I just want irrefutable proof God loves them more than other teams. 

  2. ToooOoOoo Meeeeeeee……..

  3. It’s not a business, it’s a game. If some teams have a year in, year out advantage then it ruins the game. 

  4. stlcardsblues 4 years ago

    Let me see if I understand this correctly.  We are going to bash small market teams for pocketting the revenue sharing they get and not putting it back into the team.   Then we are going bash a team which is in one of the smaller markets for putting most of its resources back into the team and making it competitive?  I wanted to make sure I was following along with the bash the small market teams no matter what approach.  

  5. Any pick that the Cardinals receive will come after the first round, and compensatory picks for Free Agent signings/losses.  So, they won’t get a higher pick…just an extra one :)

  6. The 13 worst teams are already compensated in the draft by getting the earliest picks.

  7. That pales in comparison to the amount that the Yankees spend in FA.

  8. Teams that aren’t doing well already get the best picks.  

  9. Lanidrac 4 years ago

    Yeah, but they have much more to due with competative balance, which is the whole point of this lottery.

  10. Lanidrac 4 years ago

    Yes, you’re right, but its still ridiculous that they let in the Cardinals just for being a small population market. Despite the lower population, St. Louis is actually a huge baseball market that has the revenues to keep up with most of the larger markets. Actual population size doesn’t directly have anything to do with competative balance.  They should’ve just picked the bottom 15 teams in revenue.

  11. Cedric Lee 4 years ago

    thats what i said tho, just because brewers traded away their farm system shouldnt mean that they get to receive a free pick. that was in response to one of the earlier posts where someone said that even though they made the playoffs, they should receive a free pick because they traded away their farm system.

    either way the name implies that the pick is supposed to help teams compete. usually this pertains to smaller market teams with smaller payrolls, but if they’re already competing as is the case with the rays and brewers, then i dont see why they would get a free pick. the name does not imply that it has anything to do with revenue or payroll. all it says is competitive balance. so if teams that are making the playoffs qualify for it, then it doesnt make any sense. giving those good teams (regardless of their payroll limit) an additional pick would only make them stronger. as a result, this would make it even harder for the crappier teams to beat them or at best, it will even out the pick that the crappy team got which results in zero gain. it makes even less sense in the case of the cardinals. how can u qualify for a competitive balance benefit if u just won it all?

    also, major changes should be brought up before the season ends. to make massive changes like the free agent compensation system after the season ends is dumb. cuz a lot of teams have built their roster around the previous parameters and now some of them are screwed. i.e. phillies losing a pick while the marlins dont.

  12. Or that, yeah.

  13. Hal Jordan 4 years ago

    Houston is bigger than Dallas.  But the Dallas metropolitan area is about 400,000 larger than the Houston metropolitan area.

  14. Hal Jordan 4 years ago

    Toronto is not bigger than Houston.  The city of Toronto MIGHT be bigger than the city of Houston, but the GHA is bigger than the GTA. The Toronto metropolitan area is 5.7M while the Houston metropolitan area is 5.9M.

    •  You probably won’t see this, because I’m posting this five months after you posted your comment; but then, I didn’t see your comment until now because you posted it two months after mine, so fair’s fair.

      The figure of 5.7M for Toronto’s metropolitan area is either out-of-date or inaccurate.  The actual figure is 6.6M.  As such, the Greater Toronto Area is in fact bigger than the Greater Houston Area.

  15. Hal Jordan 4 years ago

    The 5 biggest media markets as of 2012 are: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Philadelphia, and Dallas. 

  16. Hal Jordan 4 years ago

    Houston was a Cardinals farm team.

  17. kingoriole 3 years ago

    I yell “more playoffs, balanced schedule” and don’t care about interleague.

  18. Mike Piazza was the Dodgers’ last pick in the 1988 draft, but there were 43 players drafted after him.

Leave a Reply